Trading Talents…

I have found a really great way to save money is to make trades.  It can be trading your talents (carpentry, sewing, needlework, etc), or trading your time, or trading services.

One of the best ways to save a bit of money when you’re a parent is trading babysitting with another couple.  You can go out and leave your kids with them, then they can take a turn going out and you can watch their kids.  Getting good care is expensive and it can double the cost of a night out sometimes.   

When my mom was young, my grandfather would drive a lady places she needed to go, and in return she would give the kids piano lessons.  It was a win/win situation for everyone involved.

I have also heard about ladies who get together with their girlfriends and have a clothes trading party.  You bring your gently used clothes, as do your friends and you swap clothing.  It’s a great way to save money and a fun way to spend time with your girlfriends.

I have been lucky enough to be doing some trading of my own.  Carla emailed me the other day and set up a trade with me.  I created some hats for her and she’s used her sewing talent to make something for me in return.  I just can’t wait to show you what she’s made me and what I made for her, but we will share those in another post once we get our packages in the mail.  (at least I hope she’ll share, lol).

What about you?  Do you do any trading to save money?  What do you do?

3 responses to “Trading Talents…

  1. I love bartering! It’s definitely a great way to save some money!! 🙂 I’ll definitely be sharing what you made after we receive them… The girls are so excited!!

  2. I have no talents except baking and cooking. That’s how to barter with you ladies living so far away. 😦

  3. Pingback: Ooooh, looky at what I got in the mail! | Livin' Large – Tales of a Blended Family

Leave a Reply

