Daily Archives: October 9, 2012

Car Woes Update

Last week I talked about how Murphy had come to visit with both cars for 3 different things.

I am happy to say that other than the tires that we purchased on our credit card, all the labour and the other parts for the cars have been paid for with cash.  We were able to cash in some hours that Shane had banked and that pretty much covered it.

What I am truly thankful for, is that we went to the mechanic that my parents have been going to for years.  He didn’t charge us an arm and a leg.  At Canadian Tire, where they put the new tires on, they told me that I would have to replace both front wheel bearings (only the left front was loose) and have an alignment and it would be 2 hours labour.  They quoted us $500.00.  I am happy I said no, because the mechanic said that we only needed the left front, and that the alignment wasn’t necessary as everything looked good.  One hour labour and the part came to $177.00.   Three hundred and twenty-three dollars savings!

I honestly think that Canadian Tire was counting on me being stupid and scared to drive on the loose bearing.  I won’t be going back there again, that is for sure!

So cross all your crossables that we are done for the time being and we won’t have any more car trouble for a while.

