Daily Archives: October 4, 2012

An 1812 Experience…

A few weeks ago, our 12-year-olds, Allen and Austan, got to go on what I think was a really cool experience.  They went with their scout troop to Fort George in Niagara-On-The-Lake, ON and took part in a re-enactment of one of the battles of the War of 1812.

I just wanted to share a few pictures:

The uniforms

Head dress

Muskets

bayonets

Allen in his British soldier uniform (he died several times over the course of 2 battles, LOL).  There was a better photo than this, but there were other kids in the picture, and I didn’t think their parents would appreciate me plastering their kids all over the net!

I wish I could say that they both want to go back there, but Allen has decided he will stay home next year (it wasn’t his thing and it was too loud for his sensory issues)…Austan on the other hand, wants to go back. 

I love Scouting!  The kids get so many cool opportunities.

