May The Fourth Be With You

Happy Star Wars Day everyone!!!  Andrew and Aaron got into the spirit of it all and wore their Star Wars t-shirts to school today. 

It’s hot and humid outside, and I think we’re in for some more thunderstorms.  Did you get any yesterday?  Poor Moseby was all out of sorts during the storms we had here…pacing up and down the hall, trying to get up in our laps for a cuddle and promptly getting back down.  Shelby wasn’t even phased, really.

I have been pondering our variable spending and whether or not to increase it.  Gas has gone up, food has gone up (probably due to gas going up), and our kids are GROWING up and eating us out of house and home.  Right now, I take out $420 every week.  It’s supposed to go something like this:

  • Groceries ~ $275.00
  • Gas ~ $100.00
  • Clothing/Gifts ~ $20.00
  • Everything else  ~ $25.00

I usually take $15.00 out of the everything else for my bowling every week.  I have 2 weeks left of league play and I am finished for the summer.  My thinking is that I am going to keep the variable spending at $420.00 for the summer and then take another gander at it in the fall when I start bowling again. 

I really don’t want to increase our variable spending…I want to find more ways to reduce our grocery bill and our gas/transportation bill.  Not sure how to decrease the transportation.  Busing to and from work is not an option.  I would have to take 3 buses and it would take 2 hours each way.  That’s a lot of time away from my family.  I know that we could cut the grocery bill further if we made a really big effort. 

What are some ways that you’ve cut your grocery bill?  We already make lists, shop the outer perimeter of the store, shop based on sales, buy generic over brand in most cases…what other ideas do you have?

2 responses to “May The Fourth Be With You

  1. Dallas was telling me that it was Star Wars day today too…lol! I have no tshirt to wear though! ;( lol! As for cutting back the grocery bill, I think you guys are doing pretty good considering the size of your family… Ever thought about saving up & buying 1/2 cow or something?

    • We have thought about that, Carla. We also live fairly close to Maple Lodge Farms…thinking we should go visit there too. We have a deep freeze (that’s currently not in use) that we could fire up to put all the meat in. I am also hoping to do more meatless meals.

Leave a Reply

