It’s Official….

I am turning into my grandmother!  That would be this one:

My Grandma, Christmas 2006 (photo credit to my cousin *R*)

At least that’s what my step-mother implied the other night, LOL!!  You see, my grandmother knit…and she crocheted…A LOT.  Every Christmas there would always be either handmade mittens, dishcloths, or towels included in our Christmas presents.  Every grandchild, great-grandchild, and I think great-great grandchild, had what we call a “gramma blanket” in our house.  A big granny square afghan of our own.  I don’t know how many years I have had mine…at least 20 years, I think.  Grandma passed away in 2007, I miss her and I miss all the great things she made.

This week I started making one of those ‘gramma blankets’ myself:

I am thinking it’s a great tradition I can pass on to my own family. 

Oh, and I also finished the shawl I was working on!!  I have my work’s semi-formal party next Friday night, and I was hoping that I could have it done so I could wear it with my sleeveless black dress.  Here’s a couple of pictures.  You can’t tell, but I used Red Heart Shimmer yarn, and it has a sparkle to it.

That’s all for now…off to finish up dinner!

8 responses to “It’s Official….

  1. Grandma blankets are the best!! Just so you know! 😉 I love the shawl, it’s SOO pretty! You just whipped through that, wow!

  2. Very nice!! Great job on the blanket and shawl!

  3. Could you share the pattern for the shawl? It’s just lovely 🙂
    Thanks,
    Niki

  4. Thanks Judi, I’ve bookmarked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

