I actually got something accomplished today…

I decided not to go forward with the plan I had this morning:  to laze around and read all day.

Started off tackling the pile of shredding I had to do.  Last night I went through our files and got rid of all the bills that were dated 2009 and 2010.  We had a ton of shredding…didn’t want to just throw all that information in the recycling.  I ended up with an entire large recycling bag full of shredded paper.

Then I got inspired by Carla and decided to declutter and take inventory of our pantry and freezer.  HOLY MOLY, we have a lot more than I thought we did.  Almost enough to do a whole week of meal planning next week!   I would love to hear your ideas on what we should make.  I have crossed out what we’re already using this week in our weekly menu.

Freezer

  • 3 litres turkey broth
  • 2 pkgs of ground beef
  • 4 lbs chicken breast
  • 1.5 lbs chicken thighs (going into tomorrow’s dinner)
  • 2  1 pkgs pork tenderloin (1 pkg in Thursday’s dinner)
  • 2 sirloin tip roasts
  • 1 prime-rib roast
  • 2 pkgs Oktoberfest Sausage Soup (Friday’s dinner)
  • Italian Sausage
  • lg freezer bag of cubed squash
  • med freezer bag of mashed potatoes
  • lg freezer bag of frozen strawberries
  • lg freezer bag of mixed berries
  • tub of MacMillan cookie dough mix
  • 4 individual pea soup
  • 3 individual stew
  • lean cuisine meal (I will take that to work)

Pantry

  • 7 kg whole wheat flour
  • 6 kg white flour
  • 8 lbs white sugar (I got a deal on white sugar a few months back, I think I have to give some away)
  • 1 kg bag of quick rolled oats
  • 1 sleeve saltines
  • swiss cheese crackers
  • triscuits
  • veggie thins
  • 5 kg basmati rice
  • 1/2 a bag of long grain rice
  • 2 pkgs Uncle Ben’s fast and fancy rice
  • 4 pkgs Sidekicks
  • 1/2 box couscous
  • lasagna noodles
  • 3 boxes of Kraft Dinner
  • 2 1/2 jars of peanut butter
  • 2 boxes vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 box raspberry jello
  • 2 box strawberry jello
  • 8 pudding cups
  • Tetra pak of beef broth  (for soup on Friday)
  • tetra pak of chicken broth
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 4 cans mushroom soup
  • 2 cans tomato soup
  • 1 can clam chowder
  • 1 lg can of Habitant bean and ham soup
  • 1 pkg onion soup mix
  • 2 pkgs chicken noodle soup mix
  • can of tuna
  • can of baby clams
  • lg can of salmon
  • small can of lemon pepper tuna
  • 1 lb bag of dried black beans
  • 1 pkg “Fartless Chili Makins” (Shane got it as a gift from someone)
  • 1 lb split peas
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 2 cans fruit cocktail
  • 1 can mandarin oranges
  • 1 jar sweet and sour sauce
  • 1 big bottle of ketchup
  • 1 lg jar of salsa
  • capers
  • assorted teas
  • assorted vinegars
  • assorted specialty mustards (Shane got a lot for Xmas)
  • microwave popcorn
  • 1 1/2 kg of popcorn kernels (need to get out my hot air popper)

WOW!!  Our pantry looks fantastic now…all organized.  I should have taken pictures, but I didn’t. 

I think I am going to go do that reading now.  I think I deserve a break, lol!

4 responses to “I actually got something accomplished today…

  1. We are going to try some Pantry Survival this month as well. Freezer and pantries full of food, just going to shop for milk, bread and fresh veggies. Everything else needs to get eaten up from what we have. Thanks for inspiring us to try a spendless January!!

  2. Awesome! You have a lot in the house as well! I’m counting on ours really keeping our food costs down this month! Just need to get creative with it! 😉

  3. I wish I had a freezer! I keep buying my mom meat when it’s marked down 50% but there isn’t enough room. Have you tried those flattened chickens by Maple Leaf? They had them at FreshCo for $5 and they’re already rolled in herbs, garlic etc. They are over 1 KG and at Loblaws and other higher end stores, they sell them by weight so they’re usually around $12. I got 2 of them the other day and today I found a Marc Angelo roast pork that’s already marinated for $5 because it expires tomorrow. For myself, I got 7 vegetarian souvlakis a few days before Christmas at half price because they were expiring the next day. The freezers on top of both our fridges are packed!

    I need to get at the pantry as well!

    • We have tried those chickens and love them when we can get them cheap! We go to Freshco and Food basics and get meat cheap all the time. We got a prime rib roast for about $8 that will feed the 6 of us when my boys are at their dads.

      We have 2 fridges and right now only one is packed to the gills. We have a chest freezer but don’t use it as yet. Our basement is really cluttered and we have stuff stored on top of it, LOL!

Leave a Reply

