New Year’s Family Fun Night

Have you made your New Year’s plans yet?  We thought we had ours all laid out, but you know what they say about best laid plans, right?

My boys were supposed to go to their dad’s for their Christmas celebrations with him (I have them on Christmas day), but unfortunately Dad cancelled.  Andrew, who had his whole New Year’s all scheduled and planned (autistics are like that, ya know), had the rug pulled out from under him and proceeded to have a full blown 20 minute meltdown.  I felt so terrible for him, and the other two of course.  It’s never easy when plans change, but when they are ‘special’ plans, it’s even worse for him.

We’re not big fans of New Year’s Eve.   Our plans were to put the little girls to bed, then watch a movie with Austan and then go to bed early, lol.  We rarely ring in the new year.  However, since we’re all going to be together, and since I want to make up for my babies’ disappointment (yeah, I know, it’s not my responsibility, but I love them and hate to see them hurting), we decided we’d make it a little special.

My eldest, Allen, has recently become enamoured with playing Monopoly.  I thought it would be great to play a game or two of Candyland with all 6 kids, have some yummy food and hopefully make some memories.  After we put the 4 littles to bed, I thought we could break out Monopoly and the grups and the 11-year-olds would play.  Trouble is, we don’t have a Monopoly game.  So I put a shout out on my Facebook page to see if anyone had a set that we could borrow for the weekend.

Enter our friends “E” and “B”…they said that they had one and would even drive it up to us.  YAY!!  

Wouldn’t you know that they actually went out and bought us a Monopoly game?  And they also bought us Monopoly Jr. to play with the littles.  Not only that, B brought chocolates too.

What did we do to have such amazing friends?  We are truly blessed to have them in our lives. 

This holiday season we’ve been showered with some amazing gifts and acts of kindness.  I am now looking to pay it forward.  I think that is the best resolution I can make for 2012.

May 2012 bring you happiness, prosperity, and most of all, LOVE.

Happy New Year!!

5 responses to “New Year’s Family Fun Night

  1. I’m doing what I usually do, working at the restaurant and ringing in the New Year with “fingers crossed” cash in my pocket! I’d say that you are blessed with good friends. Enjoy the night in with all the kiddies.

  2. Thank God for great friends!! 🙂 Enjoy your Monopoly games! We’ll be watching a Wonder Years Marathon & relaxing for the day & night… I’m all about staying warm, safe, & dry! 😉 lol! Happy New Year!!!

  3. Oh that sounds like a perfect night! And how wonderful of your friends to be so generous! I’ll be sitting on a 3 year old…. ok not literally but I might wish I was by the end of the night! LOL Earnings will go to debt! yay!

Leave a Reply

