Quick Takes Friday ~ December 16, 2011 ~ Goals Edition!

~ 1 ~

I have been thinking about goals for the New Year. I was pretty hard on myself about my goals for 2010, and I think I might have set the bar too high. I am going to try to be more realistic this year.

~ 2 ~

 First financial goal: Bring that Emergency Fund up to $2000.00 by the end of 2012. I think we might be able to do better than this, but let’s start there. I currently have $157.77 in my TFSA. I contribute $25 per pay into this account. That’s $650.00 for the year. If I up that to $35 per pay, that’s $910.00. That would mean I would have to come up with an extra $90.83 per month. Come July, I will no longer have a car loan payment and since my car is 11 years old and not worth much, I am considering dropping the comprehensive insurance on it as well. The car payment is $108 every 2 weeks and I have no idea how much the insurance will go down. I will use some of this extra cash to fund the EF.

 ~ 3 ~

 Finally pay off and close the Line of Credit. This was actually converted to a loan about 2 years ago when the company decided to get out of the LOC business. We have 4 more payments and it’s finished!! Then we will take that $500 a month payment and apply it to other debt.

 ~ 4 ~

 Pay off 2 credit cards completely. I get a fairly big tax return every year, so one will be paid off completely once I get that. Then we’ll use the $500 from the freed up LOC and the $100 I am currently paying on the credit card, and apply it to another card. That should pay off another card by December 2012!

 ~ 5 ~

Keep adding to the Sealed Pot Challenge! I am currently adding any change that I have in my wallet at the end of the day. I am thinking that at the end of the week, if there are any $5.00 bills left in the jars, we might even put one or two of them in.  We would love to open it up on December 3, 2012 to find enough money for Christmas.  Even still we’ll save slowly for Christmas too, just to have something to fall back on.

 ~ 6 ~

Speaking of the jars…I am very serious about getting back on track with these and tracking our spending! It was the jars that got us 3 credit cards paid off in 6 months and the money to move into our house. We KNOW it works and we have to get back on it!!

 ~ 7 ~

 I do have a few personal goals for 2012. I lost 24 pounds in the first half of this year…as of yesterday, I have gained back 8 pounds of that. So that makes 16 pounds lost in 2011. My goal was 50 and I think I stressed myself out over it. I am going to set a goal of 20 pounds by next Christmas. If I can do that in 2012 and 2013, I will be close to my goal weight in 2 years. I am a firm believer that weight that comes off too fast does not STAY off. It takes a lifestyle change, patience and hard work and an expectation that sometimes, you’re going to have set backs. I also want to read 20 books by the end of next year. I had 36 books read this year, but for half that year I spent 2 hours a day on transit so had lots of time. I have less now. I am looking for suggestions on what to read. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and The Help are on my reading list so far, as well as catching up on some Linwood Barclay books.

 That’s it for this Friday! Have a great weekend!  Go check out Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes

4 responses to “Quick Takes Friday ~ December 16, 2011 ~ Goals Edition!

  1. I’m going easy with my goals too, I don’t need to impress anyone. I love that you’re using your sealed pot money for Christmas… No idea what i’ll do with ours… Guess I have some time to think about it. 😉 I’ve been putting in the odd loonie & toonie, but when weeks are tighter, they’ll be staying in my wallet. 😉

  2. I have a few goals this year but they’re not in abundance as they’re mainly all savings or weightloss goals. We can do it. p’-‘q

Leave a Reply

