Favourite Christmas Memory

The other day Judy over at We May Be Poor, But We Are Happy, posted about her favourite Christmas memory.  It made me think about what mine was.

There are a few…like the morning I found the Barbie Sailboat with Malibu Barbie AND Malibu Ken under the tree on Christmas day.  Or the wonderful first Christmas I spent with Amy and Shane and their family in 2007.  Or watching my kids and all their wonder at what Santa brings.

Perhaps though, the best memory is of my very last Christmas with my mom.  December 1987.  We didn’t know at the time that it was to be her last (she passed away 3 months later from a brain aneurysm).  I was 17.  We had just started going back to church the August before, just Mom and I.  It was something that we shared together…we were just starting to achieve that ‘grown up friendship’ that a lot of mother’s and daughters have. 

We went off to church Christmas Eve for the 7pm service.  Afterwards, Mom and I did a little visiting and we went over to the home of the student minister at the time.  I can’t even remember the name of the family, but I remember his name was Steve (I will cut myself some slack, it was 24 years ago!).  He was going to do the sermon at our church’s 11pm service that night.  While we were there, Mom found out that his wife was not going to be able to go to the service because she didn’t have anyone set up to look after her 3 kids.  That would not do…I looked at my mom, she looked at me, and there was no question…I would forgo the service and stay to watch the kids!  It was her husbands first Christmas sermon, of course she had to be there!!  I don’t think I have ever felt so good to be able to do something for someone.  As we drove home, it snowed lightly and it was simply gorgeous.

I think that is my favourite Christmas memory, ever.  What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

