Points Redemption…

Over the last few months, we’ve been stocking up on specials at Shopper’s Drug Mart when they have their bonus Optimum Points days.  On those days, if you spend $50 or more, you get 20 times the points on your card.  We only do this when the specials are good enough and we need what is on sale (generally it’s toilet paper, paper towel, pull-ups, etc).  Doing this, our points accumulate very quickly.

We had accumulated just a little over 50,000 points.   That would entitle us to $85 in merchandise.   This weekend, SDM had their “Bonus Redemption Days”.  During this weekend SDM gives us MORE money on those points; $40 more than usual.

We got $125.00 worth of FREE (well, almost free) product today:

  • 1 large package of Good Nites (35)
  • 1 package Pull-Ups
  • 2 4-litre bags of milk (one not shown)
  • 2 packages Peak Frean Cookies
  • Buckley’s Complete Cold Medication
  • Life Brand Sinus Medication Combo Pack
  • Two packages Wiskas Cat Treats (Shelby loves these, so we use them for treats…our dog is weird)
  • Dr. Scholls Heel inserts
  • Venus Razors
  • Kotex Feminine Products
  • 4 jars of Kraft Peanut Butter ($2.50 each)
  • Life brand Decongestant for the kids
  • Tums
  • 2 Blistex Lip Medex
  • 2 Lady Speedstick anti-perspirant
  • 2 lbs of butter
  • 2 boxes of Kleenex
  • Life Brand Cold Medication Combo Pack

Before taxes it came to $125.02.  We had to pay the $11.25 in taxes.

I would say that $11.25 is not bad for that haul!

Do you take advantage of your points cards?  What’s the best deal you’ve gotten?

7 responses to “Points Redemption…

  1. My mom and sister were going today to buy the stocking stuffers for the family. we pool our points and like you they got 125.00 worth of free stuff!

    • Yes, it’s great that you can pool the points! I was actually about 3500 short for the 50,000 but Shane pulled out his card…I transferred them to mine on the computer and it was immediate. Using them for stocking stuffers is a great idea!

  2. I rarely shop at SDM but have been reading what others redeemed this weekend on another forum. You did a great job!

    I use my Air Miles card but it’s really paid lousy dividends the past few years. Metro is really stingy with their points now so the bulk of my points come from using my Amex and MC (I put everything on and then pay it off at month’s end) and buy occasional items at Metro. I’m more into couponing and price matching to save money. This week I bought 12 boxes of fish sticks for $1 each ($4.49 reg price, $2 on sale plus $1 off coupon) for my mom and brother, 5 boxes of Veggie Chili that can be frozen, ($5.99 each but down to $4 for 2 and they each had $1 off sticker plus I had .75 off coupon) so they were .25 each! That one blew my mind because everything fell into place perfectly! I got a free pomegranate using $1 off coupon today, pistachios for $1.99 (on sale and coupon) a roast and package of steaks for half price, an 8 pack of Oasis juice boxes for free after buying granola bars.

    There are so many amazing deals out there if you put the work into it to figure it out.

    • I never used to shop at SDM…I find a lot of their products are marked up way too high (working in drug stores in the past, I can tell you SDM has HUGE markups, even compared to other drug stores). But when they do have their sales on toilet paper and the like, it’s generally comparable, so that’s the only time I actually shop there and only on 20x the optimum points days.

      I have to agree with you that Air Miles has become pretty stingy in general. Last year, Shane and I collected enough points to get 4 $20.00 gift certificates for Metro. This year, neither one of us has enough for even 1 g.c.

      Wow, that’s an awesome deal on the chili! Goes to show you just have to be patient and watch for the deals for the coupons and such.

  3. I was able to redeem $125 worth of points yesterday as well. I agree that SDM is the most expensive drug store out there, but their sales are usually pretty good. When they are running a sale, their prices for butter and pop and paper products almost can’t be beat.

  4. Wow!!! That’s awesome!! You cashed out!! 🙂 I have no idea how many points we have… I’m very rarely at Shoppers… too expensive. :/

Leave a Reply

