Quick Takes Friday ~ December 2, 2011

YAY!!! It’s Friday!!

~ 1 ~

After yesterday’s post, I have really been thinking about what I can do to both spend less, pay down more debt, and save more.  Then I saw Carla talking about this “Sealed Pot Challenge”  .  I chatted with Amy and Shane and decided that we would join in.  I think it’s going to be fun to open up this sealed pot next December 3rd!

~ 2 ~

As I have said before, I work with a pretty good bunch of people.  We have a lot of fun.  This week, my department has gotten themselves involved in a little challenge with the department that sits next to us.  Seems they think they can decorate their area for Christmas better than we can!  I think not!  They are going to be sorry they challenged us!  LMAO!

~ 3 ~

Tomorrow is my Mom’s family Christmas celebration.  I look forward to this every year.  Four generations of family get together the first Saturday in December every year.  The kids are very excited to see all their cousins.  It’s hard to get us all together (a quick tally puts me at around 50 or so).  I missed one year, just one, and Christmas just wasn’t the same for me 😦

~ 4 ~

Tomorrow is also this sweet little girls 1st birthday

Happy Birthday, sweet Kynzley!!   Can’t wait to see you and cuddle you tomorrow!  Kynzley is my little brother’s wee girl and I think the youngest in the family right now.  It just so happens she gets to celebrate her special day with the whole family!

~ 5 ~

Was proud of our 2 11-year-olds last night.  They helped their Scout troop hand out “Santa” boxes to some kids in our city who might not have had such a great Christmas.  That’s one thing that I love about the Scouts, they try to instill a strong sense of giving back to the community.  I hoped the boys learned something valuable last night.

~ 6 ~

A lot of the kids have been sick this week.  Andrew had a bad cold and missed a school.  Charlotte had the same cold and missed a few days. Allen began the week throwing up and missed 2 days.  Aaron was complaining of stomach pains, so he missed yesterday.  Last night Meri started throwing up and today Charlotte is off again.  Poor kids.  I really hope they’re better tomorrow or someone will have to miss family Christmas.  Cross your fingers we can all go.

~ 7 ~

So proud of Andrew today!!  He won an award at today’s Starshine Assembly at school!   The award was for Active Living.  Andrew has a really hard time with physical education…his muscle tone is weak and he gets tired easily.  He’s really been putting forth an effort in Phys Ed this term.  He’s participating much more than he is used to.  He also walks to school every day, which is something the school is striving for (the traffic in the morning is atrocious and it’s just a matter of time before someone gets hurt…if people would just WALK to school the relief would be huge).  Andrew’s ERF took this picture of us with his award:

 

Hope everyone has a terrific weekend!  Go check out the other QUick Takes at Conversion Diary

One response to “Quick Takes Friday ~ December 2, 2011

  1. I keep calling it a “saved pot” challenge… !! I’d better remember the correct name or people are going to wonder about me!! 😛 I hope your household is feeling better soon! Hubby is sick here & youngest seems to be getting a cold again… It’s going around everywhere! 😦 Congrats to your litte guy!! Thats a great pic!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

