Surprise from the Gas company

Sometimes, when things look bleak, something happens that just turns things around! 

We thought it was going to be a very lean Christmas.  We’ve not saved as much as we wanted to and I figure we were going to be about $300-$400 short.  We would have found it, but it was going to be tight.

Then, last week, I picked up the mail and there was a bill from Enbridge, our gas company.  I opened it fearing the worst (we have begun turning on the heat).  I got the shock of my life.  It said:

334.25CR

Wow!!  What the heck?  A credit that large?  As I read it further I found out it was a credit for our OLD HOUSE, where we rented.  Apparently we paid too much over several months and they were giving a credit to us on our new account.

I thought that we could really use the money instead of crediting our account, so I decided to call Enbridge and ask if they could cut us a cheque instead.  We already have the money for the gas bill budgeted, so we really don’t need the credit applied to our account.  I was told by several people “good luck getting them to agree to give you a cheque for that”, so I was prepared to ask for supervisors, managers, directors, until I got the answer I wanted.

I called, asked the CSR if it was possible to send us a cheque for the amount.  “Absolutely, Mrs. W., we would be very happy to do so!”  She verified our address and said that it could take up to 3 weeks to get the cheque.  That was a week ago.  The cheque arrived in the mail today, all ready to start our Christmas shopping on the weekend!

Sometimes, you just get lucky!  LOL!

2 responses to “Surprise from the Gas company

  1. That’s wonderful! 🙂 Sometimes things just work out the way they should!! 😉

  2. Fantastic news! We just got a refund from our cable company & it was such an unexpected surprise – $117. I haven’t figured out what I’m doing with the money, but probably putting it towards some new clothes/shoes/pajamas that I need to get the kids.

Leave a Reply

