Mish-mash Update

We’ve had a busy few weeks here.  So I am just going to give you some bullet points about what we’re up to:

Kids are full swing into their extra-curricular activities.  Monday and Fridays are the only nights we have free.  Tuesday I drag 5 of the 6 to swimming lessons at the YMCA.  Meri doesn’t get to start until she is 3 in February.  Wednesdays, I take Allen to his Anger Management/Positive Conflict Resolution class at the Learning Disabilities Association for 6pm, then I cart Andrew and Aaron over to Beavers for 6:30.  It’s back to get Allen at 7pm and then back to the church to pick up the boys at 7:45!  Thursday nights is Scouts from 7 to 9.  I drop the big boys there and run errands if need be.

The big boys participated in the Remembrance Day Parade on Sunday with the Vets from the Legion and the Army, Sea, and Air Cadets.  It was really cool and something that I am really happy they get to take part in.  Next year, I am going to make sure Andrew and Aaron go along too.

I went to not one, but TWO weddings last Saturday.  One was my co-worker’s and it was such an amazing experience.  It was a Hindu ceremony and I had never been to one before.  It was BEAUTIFUL.  I loved seeing all the women dressed in their Sari’s (I want one!!).  Such happiness.  The other was my nephew’s.  My nephew was born when I was almost 11 years old and he lived with us until he was almost 1.  I have been anticipating this day since I saw the look in his eye when he looked at his then friend Melissa (we call her Mel).  They may not have known that they were going to get married, but I did!!  I can’t tell you how happy I was to see them get married.  Both my nephew and my neice (his sister) have chosen wonderful people to spend the rest of their lives with, and I can’t be more proud.  It was a simple, short, no-nonsense ceremony and the bride looked gorgeous:

They’re so cute together:

And here’s the proud auntie!

I just want to take some time to give a shout out to my friend Carla’s blog “My Half Dozen Daily”.  Carla is hosting a giveaway with a twist!  You can read about it here.  Carla is raising money to buy goats, chickens, medicine, school supplies, etc. for World Vision and if you donate, even just $1.00, she will enter you in a great giveaway for some of her handmade creations!

Amy and I are off to a scrapbook retreat this weekend!!  I will blog all about it on Monday!

2 responses to “Mish-mash Update

  1. You’ve been busy!! lol! I love the brides dress, she’s stunning! 🙂 You look great in your dress too by the way!! Have a blast this weekend!!

  2. I’m with Carla – the bride’s dress is gorgeous! And reading over your kids activity schedule makes me embarassed that I sometimes complain about the running around I do with my two kids. 😉

Leave a Reply

