7 Quick Takes Friday ~ October 14

Well another week is through…here’s my 7 Quick Takes for this week

~ 1 ~

 I have been feeling blah, grumpy, and disconnected lately…don’t much understand why.  Maybe it’s the weather, I don’t know.  I don’t know how to get out of my funk.  What do you do to get out of the doldrums?

~ 2 ~

Tomorrow is the first of 3 weddings I am attending in the next 3 weeks.  Two are for co-workers, one is family.  I love weddings, so it should be fun, but it certainly takes a hit to the budget!  Thank goodness we have the flexibility to accomodate these types of things!

~ 3 ~

I am listening to my 11 year old son practise the trumpet…he has had it for about 3 weeks.  Yes, it is hurting my ears at the moment, but it’s a process, right?  Our other 11 year old is learning the keyboard at school, so he will soon start practising on the piano too.  I think we need to invest in some noise cancelling headphones.

~ 4 ~

We had the last of 3 school Open House visits last night.  I met Andrew’s new teacher and I didn’t get the warm fuzzies from him.  I guess I have to reserve judgment as he’s only been there for a few weeks.  Mr. B. wasn’t supposed to be Andrew’s teacher…Andrew had to be reorganized into a different class at the end of September.  Because of class size caps for primary grades, Andrew’s 2/3 split class became strictly a grade 3 class and so Andrew had to move.  Transitions are so hard for my boy and this has not been easy.  Thankfully he didn’t lose his ERF!!!  Mrs. Smith has been the most amazing and consistent advocate for Andrew and we are so blessed to have her in our lives.

~ 5 ~

Tomorrow is Apple Day for Scouting in Canada!!   Scouts of all ages will be giving out apples and asking for donations to the scouting program.  Scouts Canada is the most wonderful organization, we are thankful to be a part of it.  So if you see a Scout, have an apple and contribute a few coins to a very worthy cause.

~ 6 ~

This weekend we’re going to clean up the yard…it’s time to put away the patio furniture, pull up the dead weeds and clean out the dead plants.  We got NO zucchini this year, but the darn thing is still growing and flowering…weird. 

~ 7 ~

We got the Sears Toy Catalogue in the mail this week.  The kids have already poured over it, it’s ragged and dog eared…lol.  We have to seriously start thinking about Christmas shopping.  We have purchased only a few teacher gifts and stocking stuffers, that’s it!  How far are you along on your shopping?  Are you a last minute person?

Hoping everyone has a great weekend!

 

 

One response to “7 Quick Takes Friday ~ October 14

  1. When I’m feeling down & in the dumps, I pull up my boot straps, tell myself to snap out of it, and do something to bless someone else! I have it better than so many others that I feel horrible when I mope around kwim? Making someone else happy makes me happy! 🙂

    As for your budding musicians… It’s *definitely* a learning process!! lol! Hang in there my dear, it’ll get better! Promise!! 😉

Leave a Reply

