Weekly Menu ~ Sept 10 – Sept 16

With all the hustle and bustle of the new school year, I have neglected the blog!  Sigh…life always seems to get in the way, doesn’t it?  

Remember last week when I told you that I only got out $260 for our food instead of our budgeted $275?  I am happy to report that not only did we not touch the $15, we actually had $8.22 left over from the $260!!  Oh yeah!!  It worked so well that I decided that we would try and make that a regular thing.

Saturday Amy and I went to a local scrapbook store that is going out of business.  Amy had $20 stashed away for that purpose.  Everything was 50% off and we spent all the $20 and got lots of stuff.  We then went grocery shopping at 3 different stores and we have $10.00 left for the rest of the week to get milk.   I replenish the jars on Thursday, so we’ll come in under the $260 for sure. 

Here’s our weekly menu:

Saturday ~ Breaded Fish, Broccoli Cheddar Rice, Coleslaw

Sunday ~ Baked Chicken, Curried Rice, Broccoli

Monday ~ Savoury Apple-Chicken Sausage, Knorr Sidekicks, Peas

Tuesday ~ Beef and Bean Skillet, Salad

Wednesday ~ Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

Thursday ~ Sausage Soup and Homemade Bread

Friday ~ Pork Chops, Mushroom Rice, and Salad

We had the Savoury apple-Chicken Sausage today and it was quite tasty.  I would add some bread crumbs and an egg…it was a little dry (that’s because of the low fat content of the ground chicken).  The kids loved it, so it’s going to be a go-back-to-recipe!

Hope everyone has a great week.  I am off to update my recipe section…one of my readers asked for all the yummy muffin recipes I made last week.

One response to “Weekly Menu ~ Sept 10 – Sept 16

  1. Good for you coming in under budget! I have $20 left in my jar till Thurs, but like you, should only need milk, and maybe bananas!

Leave a Reply

