Back to School…

We’re highly anticipating the first day of school here, of course.  Charlotte starts Jr. Kindergarten on Wednesday and she cannot wait.  She has decided that she will not be Charlotte at school, she will be CHARLEY (her nickname).  Unfortunately, our school does not have the full-day kindergarten, so she will be going to the AM class.  The great thing is that she has Austan’s teacher from last year.  Ms. R. will make a big jump from the 5th grade to the kindergarten classroom.

Andrew is in grade 2 and in a 2/3 split class with his best friend Jordan (who also has special needs, they share teaching assistant extraordinaire Ms. Smith).  Aaron will be in grade 1 and will have to begin to adjust to full days.   Austan starts 6th grade at a new school, as does Allen.  Allen was able to get into the Autism Resource class at a different school to Austan.  He’s excited, and is even more excited that he’ll be in instrumental music, hopefully playing the trumpet (I am not sure my ears are too excited about that).

I am getting ready for back to school by doing a lot of baking.  Today I have whipped up:

  • 1 dozen bacon-cheddar muffins (for those late for the bus days)
  • 1 dozen oatmeal applesauce muffins
  • 1 dozen pumpkin spice muffins
  • 1 dozen mincemeat muffins
  • 1 loaf of minced pumpkin loaf

I think tomorrow, if the kids are good, I will make some chocolate chip cookies and oatmeal raisin cookies.  We’ll see how my mood is.  I like to bake and the kids love taking the homemade goodies in their lunches. 

I will be back tomorrow with my weekly menu and a little bit about our new budget.

~ Judi

7 responses to “Back to School…

  1. those muffins will be lifesavers as the kids head back to school. I’d be stealing the pumpkin spice ones if I were there. So glad you have such great staff working with your kids. Enjoy the remainder of the weekend.

    • They love taking them in their lunches and for snacks.

      We are so lucky to have wonderful educators at this school (and our schools in the past). Have hit the jackpot at this last school though with Mrs. S. We can’t say enough about how terrific she is with Andrew.

  2. Sounds so busy, hope everyone settles into a nice routine early into September.

    Your baked goods sound great!

  3. Bacon-cheddar muffins…mmmm!!!! So wish I could eat those!! lol! Glad everything s going well with the back to school prep! 🙂 Interested our reading about your new budget, I’ve had to redo mine so many times it’s insane!! 😛

    • I don’t know how you do it, Carla…I think I would surely die if I had to make all the restrictions you have to.

      We tweaked it a little bit because Evan left for school…so we’re hoping to save a little bit with one less mouth to feed.

  4. can you post those recipes in your recipe section?

    joanne

Leave a Reply

