50 Books in 2011…

Ok, so I am just over the half-way point in my quest to read 50 books in 2011.

I just finished Sara Gruen’s “Water For Elephants”.  I enjoyed it, but it was a bit of a slow read.  I want to see the movie now (big Reese Witherspoon fan).  I picked up a new book/new author last night at Chapters.  Amy found some Chapters gift cards lying around the house and when we checked the balances, we had $80.00 worth to spend!  Score!

As I said, I picked up a new author to read.  Linwood Barclay is a Canadian author who used to be a columnist for the Toronto Star.  He writes thrillers and I picked up Never Look Away.  One of my favourite authors, Stephen King, says this about Barclay and Never Look Away:

“Where has Linwood Barclay been all my life? His is the best thriller I’ve read in five years. I literally couldn’t put it down. The writing is crisp; the twists are jolting and completely unexpected.”

How cool is that?  Can’t wait to start reading it!

My dilemma though?  I need some more recommendations!  Any good authors that you enjoy?  I am open to any suggestions (ok, most suggestions…I tried reading Twilight and I think I am the only person on the planet who didn’t enjoy Meyer’s writing, lol).  What’s on your reading list?

5 responses to “50 Books in 2011…

  1. Hey Judi,
    I like Jodi Picoult, she wrote My sister’s keeper, which I enjoyed and since then I have read Mercy and Plain truth. They are easy reads, I actually call them beach readers, because you can usually finish them in a few days. If you like historical writing, the white Queena and the Red Queen are also very good, by Phillipa Gregory.

  2. I just finished still missing and never knowing both by chevy Stevens. Also before I go to sleep, can’t remember the author, was fantastic! I like Jodi picoult as well, Jennifer weiner’s good in bed and certain girls were great. Fall on my knees, she’s come undone (Wally lamb), are also a few favs

  3. LOVED Water for Elephants! Amazing movie! Who knew that Robert Pattinson could act?!? lol! Have you read “The Help”? I loved it too… Jodi Picoult & Nikolas Sparks are favorites too…. I never even bothered trying to read the Twilight books… anything that 12 yr olds raves about are definitely not going to be my cup of tea! 😉 lol!

    • LOL! He didn’t really do much acting in Harry Potter, did he? And well, I saw one of the Twilight movies and it was, simply put, terrible. I want to read “The Help” but I want to see the movie first. With the exception of the HP books, I am always disappointed in the movie if I read the novel first. I can’t wait to see the movie…I saw an interview with Bryce Dallas Howard on the weekend and it looks so good!

  4. Pingback: Who’s on my reading list for the next few weeks? « …At Your Fingertips

Leave a Reply

