London Calling….

During the second week of our vacation, Amy and I travelled to London, Ontario with our 4 smallest kids.  We left right after rush hour on the Tuesday and went straight to Storybook Gardens.  I remember going there when I was a little girl, but it was nothing like it is today.  They have a splashpad, a great park area with tons of slides and climbers, storybook characters, a few rides including a ferris wheel, and a small barn with animals.  It’s perfect for the under 10 set (maybe even under 8).  It’s fairly inexpensive, admission for the 6 of us was $38 and then you could buy tickets for the rides.  We purchased another 20 tickets and   I had a coupon for 1 free ride ticket per paid admission.  The tickets don’t expire, so they could be used again on another trip. It ended up starting to rain, so we didn’t use all our tickets.  Since I wasn’t sure when we would be back, I gave them to Carla to use if/when she takes her girls (more about meeting Carla later!).

The kids at the entrance to Storybook Gardens
I think the kids enjoyed the splash pad the most, followed closely by ‘Pirates Island’ the big playground

Aaron trying to stop the spray with his butt - I think it's a boy thing

 
  Once it started to rain we decided to go back to our hotel.  We stayed at the Homewood Suites.  When we booked we found out that they had a free buffet breakfast every morning, which was a bonus.  When we checked in we found out that they also offer a dinner meal from Monday to Thursday!  Score!  We didn’t have to buy dinner.  It was a pretty decent meal too:  Chicken Parmesan, Pasta, Salad, bread and dessert.  Not too shabby!  So for an approximate $125.00 we got our nights accommodation in a lovely one bedroom suite, AND dinner and breakfast for 6 people.  We went for a swim in the pool afterdinnertime and then went back to our room and  settled in for the night.
 

The next day, we had our breakfast, piled into the car and checked out a local scrapbook store (yeah, well, we needed to do something for us mom’s!!).  Then we went off to the London Children’s Museum.  The kids had a blast and Amy and I got to hang with Carla from My Half Dozen Daily !!  So awesome to meet her and her lovely girls.  I have to tell you, I loved the relationship she has with her oldest…they made me laugh at how they interacted.  We had Morgan take a pic of the 3 of us.

It was a terrific 2 days…the littles had a ton of fun.  I wish we had a similar museum here in our area, because the kids could have spent the whole day playing there.  

I think this was one of my favourite parts of my whole 2 week holiday.    In all, we spent approximately $300.00 for the 2 days (we went to Swiss Chalet for dinner before we hit the 401 to come home).

Oh, and if you’re wondering, Shane took the big boys camping for two nights just outside of Barrie, ON.  We met up with them at Wasaga Beach on the Thursday.  More about that in my next (and last) post about our holidays!

3 responses to “London Calling….

  1. It’s always awesome when bloggers meet each other!

  2. I think you should definitely head my way again! It was a great day spent with you guys!! 🙂 Who knew bloggers could be so “normal”?! 😛 lol!!

  3. Sounds like a fun time! I had no idea there was a theme park like that in London!

Leave a Reply

