Summertime!

Finally!  The last few weeks have finally felt like summer.  It’s been a lovely, lovely week here in Southern Ontario.

We’ve been away for a long, long, while.  I am happy to say though, that we’re back.  I am pledging to getting back to writing.  We’ve fallen off the budgeting bandwagon, big time.  We’ve spent more than we should and thus, have saved nothing extra over the last 3 months. We have saved our usual money for RRSP’s; both Shane and I make bi-weekly contributions ~ my company currently matches, his doesn’t due to cut backs (we’re hoping that is reinstated this year).  I put $25 a pay into Canada Savings bonds and $25 a pay into an ING TFSA.   We’re still off the jars.  NOT GOOD.  I have failed miserably in that aspect, so it’s time to put my money where my mouth is and get us back on track!

We’re on vacation in a few weeks, which, thankfully, is almost paid for.  We have approximately $900 in the bank and should have about $2-300 more by the time the holidays come along (Shane’s tax return came in, we paid a credit card bill and then banked the rest for the holidays).   We’re spending one night in Niagara Falls at one of their waterpark hotels (not Great Wolf Lodge).  We’re also spending one night in London (me, Amy and the 4 littles) while Shane takes the big boys camping for 2 nights.  Then we’re all going to meet up at Wasaga Beach for the day.  Other than that, we’re staying home and doing free things, or close to free things for the rest of the time. 

I have never been more ready for holidays!  I have moved back to my company’s Mississauga office after being at our Toronto office for 6 months.  There are lots of factors for this, but the main one is that I was missing my family and feeling the pinch at home and being torn.  I am so much happier being back at my old position!

There’s tons to write about, so I promise, I will be posting regularly!  I miss blogging!

We’re off to some free fun this Saturday afternoon.  A local church sponsors a free carnival every year, so we’ll be going to that.  Then we’re off to Shane’s dad’s place for swimming and BBQ celebrating the July birthday’s (Charlotte, Austan, and Shane’s dad).  Should be a fun day!  Hope everyone has a healthy and happy weekend!  Enjoy the sunshine!

4 responses to “Summertime!

  1. Glad to hear from you! You can get back on track. You and yours are one of the most dedicated households I know!

  2. Welcome back to blogging! 🙂 Glad to hear you’re getting back on the “wagon”! 😉 I’d still like to meet up with you in London when you’re here as long as I don’t babysit on the date you’re here..

Leave a Reply

