Belt Tightening

The next few months are going to be tight in the budget department.  The first day back to work in January, I was pulling into the parking lot at the GO station, and I don’t know what happened but I hit and scratched a car.  A brand spanking new Honda Civic.  So very embarrassing because everyone saw me do it, including the owner of the car.  I don’t know if I was too tired and misjudged the angle, or if my tires slid on the icy pavement.  Nevertheless, I hit the car and had to pay the piper to the tune of $1987.00 to fix it.  I not only scratched it, but dented the driver’s side back door.  We had to pull on emergency savings and a little out of our budget here and there to fix the car. 

The owner of the car was really, really, sweet about the whole thing.  She could have insisted on going through insurance, but allowed me to just pay for it.  She was without a car for 3 days and would not rent a car.  All she asked is that I pick her up in the morning and take her home on one of the days.  She worked from home the other 2.  I paid for transportation home from the body shop for her. 

I didn’t go through insurance because, well, we live in the most expensive city for car insurance, and I figured it out and my increase in insurance premiums over the next number of years (I don’t know if it’s 6 or 7 years things stay on your record) would probably top $10,000.  A hit to the fund was easier to take than paying so much for insurance.

So the next few months we will be tightening our belts in order to make up for the budget shortfall.  It started today with a very meager trip to the grocery store.  We scoured websites for frugal meals and managed to spend only $215 on food for the week.  We’ve been topping out our entire $300 budget lately, so I think we did rather well.

We have to build up that emergency fund again!  Any extra cash will be going to that, on top of what we already save.  I think though, that this is what is considered an emergency, so we used it for its purpose.

I still feel like an idiot…sigh…

4 responses to “Belt Tightening

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself…it happens.

    Glad that the lady was so nice about everything.

    Hang in there! You’re NOT an idiot..mistakes happen!

  2. Awww… That’s such a kicker! 😦 Accidents happen though, don’t take it out on yourself! Hope you’re able to build your emergency fund back up quickly! 🙂

  3. Thanks ladies! Amy and Shane keep telling me the same thing. At least no one was hurt, right?

  4. Pingback: Why you need an Emergency Fund… « Livin' Large – Tales of a Blended Family

Leave a Reply

