Do you Skype?

Before I get to today’s post, I am posting our weekly menu.  Amy found an amazing blog called “Skinny Taste” with tons of yummy recipes and she also lists the Weight Watchers points plus for each meal!  This is awesome because we’re always looking for new ideas and since starting WW I am finding it harder to meal plan.  This site is going to make it easier!

Saturday ~ Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

Sunday ~ Roast Chicken, Mushroom Rice, and Salad

Monday ~ Garlic Lime Marinated Pork Chops, Cilantro Lime Rice, Broccoli

Tuesday ~ Tacos

Wednesday ~ Asian Chicken with Quinoa and Salad

Thursday ~ Pulled BBQ Pork, Brown Rice, and veggies

Friday ~ Pasta e fagioli soup, homemade bread

Saturday ~  Cajun Fish, Rice, and Veggies

A few days after Christmas, my parents departed the Great White North for destinations further south.  In order for them to keep in touch with us, they gave us a web-cam for Christmas.  Shane took a few minutes Saturday morning and hooked up the camera to the computer and Amy got us registered on Skype.

I have to say, being able to speak with and actually see the people you are talking to is really, really, cool.  The kids had a blast talking to Grandma and Grandpa.  Meri sat on my lap and pointed at the screen “dere’s Memphis, dere’s Ma J, dere’s Grampa” (Meredith cannot seem to say her name, so it comes out ‘Memphis’ ~ we figure that nickname is going to stick!  Ma J is what she calls me…should be Mama J).

Of course, the very best part of talking over the webcam is that it’s completely free!  No long distance charges.  We’re thinking we’re going to buy one for Amy’s parents too, since they’re out in Calgary and we rarely get to see them.  What a great way to keep in touch with those you love.

Do you Skype?  If so, who do you call?

4 responses to “Do you Skype?

  1. Nope my mom has no computer skills lol. I love that blog too!

  2. My laptop has a built in camera so I supposed I could “Skype”, but have never tried.. will have to look into it! 🙂
    Glad you found a recipe site that’ll make your life easier!! Yay!

  3. I love Skype!

    I have 2 little cousins (7 & 4) who live 9 hours away so I usually skype with them and their parents. It was especially great at Christmas because I got to see them open up their gifts! I love technology!

    I also use it to chat with friends in the States and Europe and all over Canada. My first career was in hospitality and while I decided to settle down, the rest of my friends all moved away!

  4. Yes I do! My sister is in university in another city and when she graduates next year she is moving to the US to work so we’ll definitely be using more of Skype to keep in touch 🙂 I love it!!!! Nothing compares to FREE long distance 🙂

Leave a Reply

