Happy 2011!!

Happy New Year, Everyone!

So yes, I am a few days late.  We had a lovely few days off and I am off work today (although, we have a thousand and one errands to do, so the day off is shot).  I thought I would start off the new year by posting our Menu for this week and then posting some goals that I have for the coming year.

Menu Plan for the week of January 3, 2011

Monday ~ Cuban Pork and Sweet Potato Stew, Salad

Tuesday ~ Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole and Veggies (it’s actually New Years turkey dinner leftover casserole, if you want to get technical

Wednesday ~ Sausage Soup and Homemade Bread

Thursday ~ Salsa Couscous Chicken and Salad

Friday ~ Beef and Black Bean Burritos and Cole Slaw

Saturday ~ Amy’s birthday – going out for dinner

I haven’t thought tons about goals for the New Year, but I did think of a few.  I wanted to keep it simple this year and I only have 6.  Three are financial and the other 3 are personal.  I don’t know if Amy has set any goals herself, but this is what I have:

  • Decrease the consumer debt by $10,000.
  • Save $1000 into my TFSA
  • Get back on track with the jars
  • Lose 50 pounds by December 31, 2011
  • Read 50 books by the end of the year
  • Finally do my 12 of the 12th scrapbook pages that I have been wanting to do for the last 2 years and haven’t.

As far as the personal goals go…I think reading 50 books by the end of the year is do-able. We are regular library goers now and I seem to finish about 1 a week on my commute to and from work.  I already finished my first one.  I will be keeping track of books read on another page.

I joined Weight Watchers on December 27th and want to lose at least a pound a week.  I am hoping it’s an attainable goal.  I am so tired of being heavy, of not being able to find nice clothes that don’t cost an arm and a leg.  There must be some rule out there that if you’re fat and on a budget, your clothes have to be ugly.  I weighed in at 211.2 pounds last Monday.  I am so disappointed that I gained back 15 pounds since the fall.  I weigh in on Monday evenings at my meeting and I will post my weigh-ins weekly on either Monday or Tuesday to help keep me accountable.

The 12 of the 12th thing for scrapbooking is just to take regular every day pictures of the 12th day of the month and then scrapbook it.  I will start January 12th…maybe I will post some of the layouts here if anyone is interested in seeing them.

The financial goals are pretty self-explanatory.  We need to get the debt paid down…with the house expenses it’s a little harder, but $10,000 is attainable.  So is saving $1000 towards the TFSA.  I already put in 10% of my pay into RRSP’s.  The biggest thing is getting back on track with the jars.  It’s the only way all of this is going to work!

Hope everyone is enjoying their 2011 so far.  I am!

5 responses to “Happy 2011!!

  1. Congratulations on your Goals for this coming year! You’re weight-loss goal is directly in line with my own (we even weigh the same!). You doing this and posting about it is going to help me get to mine as well. While I haven’t joined a formal program, I am going to be doing lots of things to get my body moving and shedding those pounds.

    50 books seems like a pile to me – but that’s because I have a bunch of other things that eat up time for reading. And, since I am a bit lazy and spend way too much time in front of the TV during my down time, I’m envious of this goal.

    I can’t wait to see how your year shapes up! Keep up the great work. I know you’ll be back on track with those jars in no time!!

  2. I am a lifetime WW member who rejoined with many pounds to lose to get back to Lifetime status. With just journaling on the new program I have lost about 8 pounds (rejoined Dec 9). I love the new program – fruits and veggies FREE 🙂 I think you will be pleased with the results of the new WW program.

    Would you be willing to post your Turkey leftover casserole (or can I find it via the website)? I still have tons of tureky leftover and it needs to be used up quick!

    joanne

  3. Good luck. I have a save goal and a weight loss goal this year too. Let’s reach to our goals together. 😀

  4. Happy New Year and good luck on your goals! Many of mine are the same (get back on the jars, save for TFSA and scrapbooking!) – we can keep each other motivated 😉

Leave a Reply

