Ain’t technology grand?

Guess where I am blogging from?  Go ahead, guess…

If you guessed a VIA Rail train en route to Montreal, you’d be right!

If you know me personally, you will know one thing about me…I really, really, really, dislike flying.  It terrifies me beyond belief.  I suck it up when I have to (like going to England and Calgary), but I would rather not set foot on an airplane if I don’t have to. 

I flew to Montreal a month ago and it was a major source of stress.  So, when it was decided I was going back, the train was suggested.  I jumped at the chance.  It’s a 5 hour trip from downtown Toronto to Montreal.  On that last trip by air, it took 6 hours from door to hotel room when you factored in all the wait times at the airport, etc.  So, taking the train was a great option for me.

The train also has perks that airplanes don’t have at the moment.  Like complementary wi-fi!  I can surf the web and blog and make the time go faster. 

The best thing though?  I am not 30,000 ft in the air!

2 responses to “Ain’t technology grand?

  1. I love taking the train. I admit that air can be faster… But… There’s something nice and relaxing about a train ride. Enjoy your Montreal trip!

  2. Glad you had a better time of it by train! And very true – for short-hauls, the train definitely stacks up vs flying given the crazy airport wait times these days.

    Vivian is Virtual
    VIA Rail’s tour guide

Leave a Reply

