Adding to our Family…

In August 2009, we lost my cat, Matilda, to cancer. Two months later, in October 2009, we lost Daisy, our lab/shepherd cross, also to cancer.  We weren’t ready for a long time, but lately, Amy had been missing that companionship, that presence, that a dog brings to a home.  She started perusing websites and shelters for the perfect canine for our family.    Yes, we could have put that money on our debt, but I am making no excuses…we wanted another pet, and we are willing to take a little longer to pay off the debt.  After all, it’s our debt and our decision…’nuff said.

On Sunday, we found our girl, a Yorkshire Terrier/Bichon Frise cross, and Amy fell in love at first sight (my heart melted a bit too).  We brought her home.  We called her “Shelby”. Everyone just loves her.  Aaron made up a song:  “I’m in love, I’m in love, my heart is just in love now, Shelby”.

So we are now proud owners of a 10 lb ball of fur…who wouldn’t fall in love with this face:

8 responses to “Adding to our Family…

  1. She’s beautiful! Congratulations on your new furbaby! She looks to be full of love and maybe just a little mischief 😉

    Judy@cutest-little-things

  2. She is too cute! My next fur baby will be a bichon frise mix.

  3. A-dor-a-ble! I want Shelby to come live with me! And Andrew’s song makes putting the debt off totally worth it.

  4. Shelby kinda looks like Alf ….. remember Alf from that TV show?

  5. Awwwww!!!!! She is soo sweet & worth an extra payment on your cc!!! You gave this little sweetheart a home for the holidays which is worth so much more!! 🙂 Congrats!!

  6. Congrats on your new addition!

    A house is not a home without a dog 😉 Shelby is worth every penny I’m sure. I say this because I’d love to have a dog around in my house forever too.

    Currently have a 4 year old bulldog. Her companionship is worth all the shedding and slobbering.

  7. Too cute. I would love to have a pet….ahhh one day…They are totally worth it!

  8. Awwh. Shelby is adorable!

Leave a Reply

