Weekly Menu ~ November 8, 2010

I decided to take the blog off the privacy setting.  I was tired of it, it made the blog a chore rather than something fun, and it showed I was being controlled by someone else (and that someone else is so NOT worth it).  A very wise friend told me (and I am paraphrasing) that the only people I have to answer to are those people who I see in my home on a daily basis, everyone else’s opinion doesn’t matter.  He is right.  So, welcome back to all those who missed us!

We’re back our weekly menu!  I have added what we pay for each meal.  This does not include our beverage for the meal, which is usually about 1.5 litres of milk ($1.57 per meal).

Sunday – Ribs, Bacon Cheddar Rice and salad ~ $14.93
Monday – Sausage Soup and Homemade Bread ~ $13.00
Tuesday – Shake and Bake Pork chops, rice and corn ~ $13.77
Wednesday – Tuna Casserole ~ $10.74
Thursday – Spaghetti and Meatballs ~ $10.15
Friday – Pot roast, biscuits and veggies ~ $12.25

Our total for dinners this week is $74.84.  We spent a total of $200 at the grocery store for our main trip and we will have to go back to get milk in the middle of the week.  I am hoping that we can save at least $50 of our $300 budget. 

We also started back on the jars this weekend.  It feels good.  It has worked so well in the past and I think we got lazy once we moved into the new house.  I want to shave off at least $10,000 of our debt in the next year, so we have to get cracking!

Have a great week everyone!

6 responses to “Weekly Menu ~ November 8, 2010

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog – want to exchange links? It’s always great to hear from someone who knows where Alberton is lol! I have been reading your blog and glad you’ve gone public – you write well and your story is fantastic! My brother and I have had many discussions over the years about “communal living” and its many benefits – I applaud you for helping your friend and making them a part of your family. I’ll be back! Oh yes, I noticed your Autism links – is one of your children autistic? I ask because I am a special ed teacher in a highschool and 5 of my 12 students have autism.
    Jane

    • Hi Jane, would love to exchange links! I will add you to my blogroll.
      And yes, our 6 year old son, Andrew, was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum disorder at 20 months of age. We would be lost without our special education teachers in this family! Allen, one of our 10 year olds, has ADD and has been identified as gifted, so two of our kids have IEP’s.
      Thanks for stopping in and commenting!

  2. I’m glad you aren’t private anymore! I’ve missed reading your blog.

  3. I’m so glad you’re not private anymore! I really enjoy reading your blog.
    Your menu sounds delicious by the way.

  4. I’m glad you’re “back”! I’ve been checking on your blog & was bummed that it was on private… happy you’ve taken that off! 🙂 We’re also going back to the jars next week…. we “strayed” too. 😉

  5. PS – Are you changing the amounts of your jars? Since you have a big family i’m always interested in actual “numbers”.. i’ll be posting mine next week. Just doing some last minute “tweaking”. lol!

Leave a Reply

