Ch-Ch-Cha-Changes!!

Goodness, we’re not blogging like we used to!  These last few  months have been a whirlwind of activity around our household and it’s hard to keep up.  All the activities started up again (swimming and scouting), we’ve been trying to get this basement room finished for Evan and it’s not going as quickly as we would like it to go.  Our evenings and weekends are a flurry of activity.  The biggest thing is that there’s been a fairly significant change at our house:  I have a new job!

It’s not a permanent position, but I have been asked to oversee things going on in our Toronto office for the next 3 months.  I am now getting up at the buttcrack of dawn and getting on a GO Bus to T.O. every morning.  I am being immersed into things at this office that are way out of my comfort zone.  I did ask for it though (I indicated I wanted to take on more ‘supervisory’ type work), so I can’t complain.  I am looking forward to the challenge and so far, I am enjoying being in here.

Unfortunately, with my travel time increasing by another hour and a half (that’s both ways combined), I am not as available at home as I used to be.  Which means Amy is picking up the slack.  That’s a negative…being the caregiver to seven children is NOT easy and now she has to take on a bit more work.  For instance, I used to make dinner mostly every night…now, because I don’t get home as early as I used to, she’s picking up a few more days of that.  I am hoping that I will still get home early enough on Mondays and Thursdays to at least take that chore off her hands (Amy doesn’t much like cooking, even though she’s AMAZING at it).  Hopefully I can pick up other chores that aren’t time specific, like laundry duty.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

6 responses to “Ch-Ch-Cha-Changes!!

  1. livinglargereader

    Yay for you on the “new” job Judi! As long as you’re happy with the changes, it’s all good. Have you thought about meals that can be pre-made and frozen on the weekends and then defrost and cook during the weekdays? That is what I do with all my chili ingredients, or pre-marinated meats. Makes life SO much easier on those days you don’t have time to prepare dinner.

  2. livinglargereader

    Argh I keep forgetting to write who the comment was from..that was me btw.

    Sonia

  3. livinglargereader

    Congrats on the job. 🙂

    the commutes not that bad. I actually LIVE in Toronto and my commute to downtown core is 1.5 hours ONE way. You get used to it. You can always nap. 😉

    -AP

  4. livinglargereader

    I’d like to be able to commute to work everyday, but the 380 kms round trip would really bite if i did it every day. Congrats on the new job, it’ll look good on your resume!

  5. Congrats on the “temp” new job! You will be great at it, I’m sure. I like the suggestion made above, freezing on the weekend for the weekdays. It might help take some of the pressure off of Amy. And instead of making it a chore, my 10yo son loves to help cook and it is excellent quality time together.

    Angie

  6. livinglargereader

    Amy sounds a bit like me in the cooking; I can put together a pretty decent meal from scratch, can bake a cake without following a recipe at all…but I really hate cooking. 😉

    Hope things are going ok for you. Sometimes life takes on a busy turn: this week I’m working 8 days in a row. I’m changing stores (just to a different SDM location) and where I have been up until now asked if I could stay on an extra few days which means mon, thurs, fri at one place, tues, weds, sat, sun at another…oh and the next mon. at the first place again. 😉 But that is only one week. Kind of like the little train going up the hill, chugging along, we just go “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…”…and wait for the relief when we get to the top and start coasting down again the other side. 😉

    Take care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

