Miscellaneous Ramblings

I am in a writing rut…not sure of what to write about half the time, no time to write the other half! Summer is always busy, add that to a longer commute to work (35 minutes as opposed to 10 minutes) AND shuttling kids around to Aikido, Dance, and swimming lessons, and I feel like I have no time to breathe. So this post is going to be a little of this, and a little of that.

We went and changed our membership from Mississauga YMCA to the local Y here in our new city. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that the membership actually went down about $18 a month. We signed 5 of the kids up for swimming lessons which they started yesterday and signed up the big boys for Aikido classes every week. So far they’ve taken 2 classes and they really like it. I promised them if they went to 5 classes and were planning on staying in it, that I would buy them each a Gi (karate uniform). I found some new on-line for about $15 each, but I still haven’t looked at Kijiji to find some used ones. We also take Charlotte and Aaron to dance class every week. We tried taking Andrew, but it was far too overwhelming for him, with the music and the other kids, so we decided that wasn’t the right fit. Plus, he was constantly looking at himself in the mirror…that is one of his most interesting quirks of late. He’ll be playing quietly in his room and every 5 minutes or so, he runs into Charlotte’s room to look in the mirror at himself for a few minutes. We have to see if there is anything else he can do. We also found out that they have a rock climbing wall at this Y location. It costs about $10 for a certification course, and then every week you can go and try out their walls. Austan is right into that!

Amy and I have been making use of the local library. We went about a week ago and Amy picked up 5 books, and I picked up one. Amy is a voracious reader and once she gets her nose in a book she doesn’t take it out until it’s done. I have finally finished Anne Rice’s Mayfair Witch series and I am off to the library tonight to get another book to read on vacation. I am hoping to pick up a few more on my list. I put a request in for ‘The Year of the Flood’ by Margaret Atwood and I think it’s in and on hold for me. I did a search and “The Blythes Are Quoted” is also available. That, along with 2 manuscripts that my friend wrote, should keep me busy for the next few weeks.

We’ve made use of our passes to the Metro Zoo and went there on the long weekend. The kids had a blast at the splash pad…2 acres of fun in the freezing cold water. It’s a busy place though, and we found ourselves losing children! Even with 2 kids each, it can be pretty overwhelming. Here they are with the Komodo Dragon statue:

Last week, we woke up and I asked if anyone we wanted to go to St. Jacobs for the day. It’s about an hours drive by the highway, but we decided to take the scenic route through Belfountain, Erin, and Fergus area! I hadn’t been to St. Jacobs in years, and I cannot believe how much is there. We didn’t even see half of it…which is good because we might have spent way too much at the Outlet Mall if we had of gone there. As it was, Amy and I found another scrapbook store, The Scrapping Turtle, and we have plans to go back to visit…hopefully without children in tow so we can hit the outlet to check on deals.

 I went to Costco today to pick up some frozen chicken breasts (they have a 4kg box that we pay $29 for and it usually lasts us about 4 or 5 meals,) and I had to renew my membership. Not only was that $55, but the wonderful HST is added on top of that now, so I paid $62.15 for the year. Either we have to go take advantage of the bulk deals there more, or I will not renew the membership next year. I am not sure we even saved that much in the last year on our purchases. In addition to the chicken, I picked up dishwasher detergent for $10.59 (5.2 litres worth), Italian sausage (2 meals) for $7.72, and ground pork (4 meals) for $10.67. I resisted on a few other things that I wanted to pick up, but didn’t. They had a 2 pair pack of yoga pants for $11.49 and some really great pens for scrapping for $9.99. Both Amy and I would like some more workout clothes, but we don’t NEED them…I also wasn’t sure if we actually needed the pens, so they stayed at the store.

Next week we are on holidays and we can’t wait! We are off to the wilds of Muskoka for a whole week. I am hoping to get to Gravenhurst to go to the Farmer’s Market there. The kids all had a blast there last year and we enjoyed it too. We plan to have lunch on the wharf. Other than that, we’ll be spending most of our time relaxing at the cottage, playing with the kids on the beach, going kayaking or canoeing, and roasting marshmallows on the fire. Hope the weather holds out for us. So far, the forecast is rain on Saturday and Sunday. I sat down and made the menu for the week and I have to say, it looks yummy…let’s hope the kids do too!

That’s all for now! I will catch you all when we get back from our trip!

3 responses to “Miscellaneous Ramblings

  1. Wow, you have defintiely been busy! I hope you enjoy your vacation in Muskoka. Cute picture by the way, sounds like the kids are pretty busy this summer too!! Looking forward to school starting?

    • I am so looking forward to being up there…if I could find comparable work/wages up there, I would be living somewhere in Muskoka year round for sure.

      We try and keep the kids busy as possible…they’ve had too much down time this summer because we don’t have a backyard and the park by our house hasn’t been built yet 😦 They are looking forward to school starting, for the most part. It’s a new school so there’s a little bit of trepidation involved…lol.

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a great summer so far!! I lve the TO Zoo! It’s awesome! 🙂 Have fun this week!!

Leave a Reply

