It’s Farmers Market time !

 

I love, love, LOVE, Farmer’s Market season here in Canada.  From June until October there are little markets popping up everywhere.  We go to a local one here in Mississauga at Square One on Sunday mornings and when we’re on holidays we usually try to track one down in the area where we are staying.  Last year we went to the Gravenhurst Farmers’ Market (photo above is from the website) and the kids even had a blast.  The best part about the market is that you’re supporting local farmers and the local economy.   Sometimes the prices aren’t as good as the grocery store, but it’s worth it to get really fresh produce. 

Today I picked up:

  • Strawberries ~ $4.50 – these were fresh picked this morning…love Ontario strawberries
  • Red Leaf Lettuce ~ $1.50
  • Bunch of Cilantro ~ $1.50 (Amy’s going to make Pico de Gallo)
  • Peaches ~ $3.00 for a basket
  • Rhubarb ~ $4.00 for a big bunch
  • Peppers ~ $3.00 (I love fresh orange, yellow, and red peppers)
  • Asparagus ~ $3.00 (for 2 big bunches)
  • 4-year-old cheddar ~ $5.25 (expensive but SO good)

I came home and made some yummy 2-point Rhubarb Muffins with the rhubarb.  I am going to make a great big salad for lunch and have one of the muffins.  Tonight, we’ll have the asparagus with dinner.

Do you have any local farmers markets that you go to?

6 responses to “It’s Farmers Market time !

  1. The recipe looks great!! They are only 2 points? I will have to try them. I have a bunch of rhubarb ready to go.

  2. I love rhubarb! I haven’t been to a farmer’s market in a while but they have a lot of them around here.

  3. There is NOTHING better than farmers markets! I go whenever I can! I love paying the hard working farmers for the love & labour they put into their food!! And nothing tastes better than fresh & local! YUM!!

  4. I’ve been to the Gravenhurst Farmer’s Market too!! I love them, and our town has one every Saturday morning in the summer. The fruit is just so delicious! I also LOVE strawberry picking myself. We have SEVERAL around here too which makes it easy!

  5. I didn’t know there was a FM in Gravenhurst (although I guess I am not in that area that often) but will definitely have to try to make a trip up there this summer.

    I love love love fresh fruits and veggies too.

    Thanks for sharing the link to the muffins. Now I have to find myself some rhubarb. Haven’t seen in the grocery store or the farmer’s market near me yet.

Leave a Reply

