The Cuddle-Monster…

Today is a very special day.  My last-born, my sweet little Cuddle-Monster, Aaron, turns FIVE years old today.  Of course, all our kids are special and all their days are special, and I love them all in very different and wonderful ways…but with my Aaron, I have a single solitary spot in my heart just for him. 

He’s the baby that I didn’t plan and I never knew I wanted.  After Andrew was born, I figured 2 children were enough for me.  I wasn’t sure that I was going to stay with my husband at that point…the trouble had already started in our marriage.  We couldn’t afford another child.  However, on Labour Day weekend 2004, I had an inkling I was pregnant.   I went out and purchased a test and sure enough, it came back positive in 30 seconds flat.  I cried.  What were we going to do. 

Of course, there was no question…we were having another baby.  I hoped it might be my girl, but I pretty much knew in my heart that I was having another boy.  Each time I was pregnant, I just knew I was having boys, lol.  I made some decisions…I was having the baby naturally, with no drugs and under midwifery care.  That was the best decision I made…I loved being under the care of a midwife.  Drug free childbirth hurt like H-E-L-L but it was so worth it…I felt incredible afterward and the baby glow I had was bigger and better than the 2 epidural births I had previous. 

On Monday, May 2nd 2005, while watching CSI:  Miami, I went into labour.  The contractions came hard and fast.  I barely made it to the hospital and within 3 hours of the contractions starting, I was holding my beautiful baby boy in my arms.  Aaron Jacob was born at 1:30 am on Tuesday, May 3, 2005 (my paternal grandmother’s birthday).  He was perfect…7lbs 5oz…my littlest baby (Allen and Andrew were 9 lbs 6 oz and 8 lbs respectively).  He latched on nursing right away (my other two I had heaps of trouble with and weren’t nursed) and I couldn’t stop looking at him.  He looks like my side of the family…you can look at him and definitely know he was mine.   

Aaron at 3 months

Aaron didn’t have the idyllic family life his first 2.5 years of his life.  Our marriage was not a happy one.  We both loved him dearly, but just couldn’t love each other any more.  Aaron was an incredibly serious baby, rarely smiled.  I am sure that it was because our house wasn’t happy.  We left when he was 2 years 4 months old.  It took him a little while, but now he smiles…A LOT.  I hate to admit that he did not get my best in his first years of life…and for that I will always have regret.  Perhaps that’s why I have this soft spot in my heart for the boy.  I love him and squeeze him and call him George…and he LETS me.  I call him my Cuddle-Monster. 

This morning, I wished him a happy birthday and picked him up in my arms.  He’s still wee…about 32 pounds and the shortest in his class.  Do you know what he said to me?  He said: 

Mummy, even though I am five today, I will still be your Cuddle Monster. 

This is why I love him.  Happy Birthday, Aaron…Mummy loves you so very, very much. 

 

  

 

Aaron's 'Legendary Starfy' birthday cake...Happy Birthday little man

4 responses to “The Cuddle-Monster…

  1. Happy Birthday to Aaron! That cake looks wonderful.

  2. Wow, has he ever grown!! I remember when he was 3 weeks old and just a wee thing.

  3. awwh. So sweet. I hope he had a great birthday!

Leave a Reply

