Tasty Tuesday (my version of Menu Plan Monday)

Ok, so I am really late for Menu Plan Monday!  I have to start thinking about posting MPM on Sunday night, or at least have it ready to publish on Monday morning.  Monday’s are fairly busy days, both at work and at home.  Work is just work,  it’s always a busy day for our department.  Then I rush home to take Andrew and Aaron to their swimming lessons, then come home and help with or make dinner.  I always try and at least make dinner at our house.  I like to cook and Amy doesn’t…taking that one thing off her hands every day makes me feel better about all the work she does around here.  After dinner, it’s bedtime routine for all our rotten children, and then we plop down on the couch and watch Dancing With the Stars.

We had a fantastic weekend.  My brother got married on Saturday to his lovely fiancée, Jennifer.   Wonderful service and lovely little party after…we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.   I would share a few photos, but I don’t have permission to plaster them all over the web, so I won’t, but here are a couple of our beautiful girls:

The girls love their daddy!!

The girls in their pretty dresses!!

Back this week is our pricing for our meals.  I have finally sat down to do this and I want to do this going forward.  As I talked about last week, we had to change our food jar to reflect the growing costs of feeding 10 people.  Our menu this week comes to $91.61 for 7 meals.  That still only comes out to 1.31 per person per meal. I don’t think that is that bad.  We have a couple of more expensive meals this week…but they look ever so tasty, don’t you think?  Make sure you go check out I’m An Organizing Junkie for more really great menus!

Day Meal Price
Sunday Curried Chicken & Fruit, Couscous, Cauliflower $17.32
Monday Breakfast Bake, Fruit Salad $10.96
Tuesday Ham Lasagna Alfredo, Salad $12.97
Wednesday Roast Beef, Potatoes, Carrots and Beans $12.03
Thursday Saskatchewan Sausage Chowder, Salad $12.32
Friday Chicken Feta Bake, Long grain and wild rice, veggies $18.16
Saturday (Tentative) Pork Roast, Veggies, Roast Potatoes $7.85
6 responses to “Tasty Tuesday (my version of Menu Plan Monday)

  1. okay how do you make the ham alfredo lasagna? I think I could really love that one! recipe please!

    • Jeni, it ends up being more like a casserole. I take a box of lasagna noodles and break them up…put them in the crock pot. Then I cut up a bunch of veggies…today we used 1/2 box frozen spinach (thawed and water squeezed out), 1 to 2 cups broccoli and one red pepper (diced) and threw those in. Add about 2 cups cubed ham (we used left over from Easter), 2 jars of Classico brand Alfredo and Roasted Garlic Sauce and a can of diced tomatoes. Then I added about 2 tsps dried basil and some garlic powder. Mixed all the ingredients together and put the crockpot on low for about 5 to 6 hours. We didn’t add cheese, but you could add a cup of shredded mozzerella if you wanted and even cottage or ricotta cheese. Amy and I made it up off the top of our heads on Friday night while we were grocery shopping. It was pretty good and we got choruses of “can you make this again”…so ya know it’s kid friendly, lol

  2. awwh. the girls look ADORABLE with their matching dresses and the opposite shoes. just ADORABLE!

  3. Those pictures are so adorable! I wish I could have made it to the wedding, but I was quite literally going insane last week.

Leave a Reply

