Happy, happy, joy, joy!!

Yesterday, Gail Vaz-Oxlade’s blog was about joy and she asked if we could identify what brings us joy.

Have you ever received a letter or card from a friend that made your heart swell? That’s joy. How about when you look at your children laughing and playing, could you just sing? That’s joy. And remember when you went out for dinner with your sister and the whole evening was just so lovely? That’s joy. When you have a spring in your step, a song in your heart and everything just seems brighter and more colourful, you are in the throes of joy.

I have thought a bit about what brings me joy…here are a few of them:

Our kids ~ probably a no brainer, of course.  We love to enjoy our kids and watch them play, learn, and create.  Whether it’s riding their bikes, watching them do their homework and finally have that light-bulb moment of getting it, or watching them sleep soundly, it all brings a great deal of joy into my heart.  I think all too often we get caught up in the day to day and don’t just stop and enjoy the kids…must do this way more often.

Amy and Shane ~ goes without saying too…they are my very bestest friends and soul mates.  I don’t know what I would do without them.

My extended family ~ if you knew my family…my aunts, uncles, and cousins, you’d have to agree, they are simply the best.  I can’t spend any time with them where I don’t laugh out loud.  I  remember like it was yesterday, sitting with some of my cousins, out on my cousin “J’s” back deck, the night before my Grandmother’s funeral 3 years ago.  I had joy that night, even though it was a sad time for all of us.  I have learned that we must remember the joyful times of a person’s life, and that last goodbye should be a celebration of the joy that person brought to you.  I laughed that night until tears streamed down my face.  I don’t get to spend time with my cousins that often, and it is always joyful, even when it might be ‘inappropriate’.

My girlfriends ~ I have a fantastic group of girlfriends that have been there for me through thick and thin over the last 5 years.  We met on the internet, through a meet up group and we’ve been tight ever since.  In a few short weeks we’ll all be travelling to Muskoka for our annual girls weekend.  I know that weekend is going to be non-stop joy!

Scrapbooking ~ our rather addictive and sometimes expensive hobby.  Nothing is better than sitting at our table in the dining room, creating memory books with Amy.  I know that those books will give my family joy in the years to come.  If you want to see a child’s eyes light up, show them a scrapbook dedicated especially to them.

Exercising ~ ask me that 3 weeks ago and I would have told you that I could never find joy in exercising!!  But holy, fricken, cow, I LOVE it.  I feel absolutely amazing afterward.

Cooking for my family ~ I love scouring the internet for new recipes and making them for the family, or just for me, Amy, and Shane.  Nothing’s better than hearing “Can we have this again?” from the kids.

So, question is, what brings you joy?

Leave a Reply

