Olympic Withdrawal and Menu Plan Monday ~ March 1, 2010

What a ride the Olympics were!  I am suffering from huge withdrawal today…I so want to turn the TV to CTV and watch Brian Williams and all the events.  I was very proud to be a Canadian in the last few weeks.  Not only that, but I was incredibly proud of all the athletes who competed.  Thank you to VANOC for these games…they have inspired the nation.  That may sound cheesy, but I don’t think I have ever felt so much common pride with my fellow Canadians before.  We displayed a very non-Canadian-like patriotism that is pretty much unheard of in this country.  Thank you to the world, who came to play in our backyard, and helped to make it the success it was.

And who will ever forget Sidney Crosby’s overtime goal for Gold yesterday?   I know my father and 2 older brothers can tell me exactly where they were when Paul Henderson (who recently revealed that he’s battling cancer) scored the winning goal in the 1972 Summit Series.  I was only 2 and a half, so I have no recollection.  This goal by Sid the Kid will go down in history for a whole new generation of hockey fans.  It was truly magical.  Hats off to the USA, who, according to all the experts, shouldn’t have even been in the gold medal game.   They played a fantastic tournament and had every Canadian on edge for an entire 3 plus periods of hockey. 

Menu Plan for Monday, March 1, 2010 (go check out all the great menus here)

Sunday ~ Oktoberfest Sausage, Noodles and Sauce, Veggies

Monday ~ Chicken Cordon Bleu, Scalloped Potatoes, Veggies

Tuesday ~ Beef Stew over mashed potatoes

Wednesday ~ Meatball Soup and Biscuits

Thursday ~ Salsa Couscous Chicken

Friday ~ Easy Pork Lo-Mein, Egg Foo-Yung

Saturday ~ Take out from Leao D’ouro (it’s my 40th birthday…shhhhh…you didn’t actually hear that)

I hope everyone has a fantastic week.  I will be back to blogging a bit more…gotta find something to do with my time now that the Olympics are over!

9 responses to “Olympic Withdrawal and Menu Plan Monday ~ March 1, 2010

  1. I’ve been reading the papers and checking discussion boards just to get my Olympic fix. In 1972 we watched the game in the gym at my school, a very faint memory now but I don’t know which is better. Winning on home soil (and a game winner by a player I do NOT like!) or beating a team whose country was the enemy of the world! Both were amazing and I’m glad I was alive for all of it!

  2. I was feeling the same today. The old “hmmm now what do I watch on TV/what do I do with my time” LOL

  3. Well I don’t know if we are hated by the whole world just a large part of it. LOL!! It was an amazing game. I didn’t move from the TV during all of it. My husband and I watched every minute of it and by all rights the US shouldn’t have made it that far. But the players for both teams played some of their best game out on that Ice. It was nice to watch Crosby make that last goal. He is young so I am sure he has a few more trips back the Olympics and I look forward to watching him play. WTG Canada on all of your gold medals. You guys were awesome. The US wasn’t to bad either. And Happy Birthday. Hope you have a great one!!

  4. Happy Early Birthday! 😀

    PS-The cordon bleu chicken with scalloped potatoes & veggies? sounds YUMMY!

    • Thank you…despite all my shhh’ing I am looking forward to turning 40.

      Dinner was yummy…it was a “fake” cordon bleu…breaded chicken breasts with ham and melted swiss cheese on top instead of inside. Kids loved it too…had a chorus of “can you make this again?”

  5. Yummm…love their take out meal. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

