Welcome 2010…we’re ready for you!

Happy 2010 everyone!  I can feel that this is going to be a terrific year.  We are paying down our debt at a good rate, we’ve purchased a home and will be moving in October, and we haven’t sold the children to the gypsies (yet).  As many of our fellow personal finance bloggers have done, we have set some personal and financial goals for the coming year.

Financial Goals:

1. Closing/Moving/Basement Renovation Fund

  • If you take a look at our sidebars, you’ll see a change to our former basement renovation ticker.  We’ve decided to lump all the funds for the new house together into one savings account.  So that’s the closing costs, moving costs and the basement renovation.  The goal for that is $15,000.  This goal is certainly do-able.    We will be adding both our income tax returns into the fund once we get them by the end of March.  That will be approximately $5,000 right there. So basically we’ll have about $5,500 to save for by October 6th, our closing date.  Once our 3 credit cards are paid (see below), we’ll be putting half of those payments to the fund and half will go on another credit card to pay it down.

2. Credit Card Closing

  • We still have to close the 3 credit cards.  We have completely paid off one, and have approximately $4000 left on the other two.  Shane has some end of year money coming in from work and when we combine that with our regular payments we’ll have it paid off by the end of February.

3. Front Loader Washer and Dryer

  • Amy and I both want a front load washer and dryer for the new house.  We do have a certificate from our builder for our 5 appliances (washer, dryer, fridge, stove and dishwasher).  These, of course, are for standard white or black appliances.  In order to get the front loaders, we’ll have to put up the extra money.  We have calculated this at approximately $1500.  So that’s another new ticker!  We’ll use extra jar money (we always have between $20 and $50 a week leftover) to accomplish this.

4. Girls Weekend Fund

  • Amy and I have a weekend getaway in Muskoka to go to in April.  Every year we get together with our amazing girlfriends, without children, and relax and have a great time.  Our share of the weekend cottage rental turns out to be approximately $50 each.  Then there’s gas money, our share of the food (everyone plans one meal for the entire group, Amy and I usually take Sunday breaky), and a bit of spending money when we go into town.  We’ve put that ticker at $300.  Right now, we already have $100 saved…yay us! 

5.  New Pots and Pans

  • This is an extra little goal that we have for the new house…we want new pots and pans.  A decent set will cost us around $500.  I have my eye on some shiny red ones from Kitchenaid that will match our new mixer.  This isn’t a need, it’s a want.  It’s something we’re working towards, but we don’t definitely need them by the end of the year.  Once we have paid for our weekend away, we’ll start putting our change away to pay for new pots and pans.

Personal Goals

1.  Lose weight

  • All three of us grups need to lose weight.  I need to drop 50 pounds, but I am putting my goal at 30 pounds for the year.  That’s 20% of my current weight.  Amy would like to lose 20 pounds, and Shane would like to lose 30.

2. Exercise More!

  • This is a total must…we all lead a very sedentary lifestyle.  We have a membership at the Y and we are committed to start using it more.  The kids all take swimming lessons there, so we are breaking even on the membership fee, however we don’t use the facilities as much as we could or should.  Amy and I are going to be taking Aquafit once a week and hopefully, we’ll try to find a way to get to Yoga once a week as well.  I am the one who shuttles the kids to lessons, so while they are swimming, I am going to take advantage of the equipment for that 30 minutes, or do a lane swim.

3. Scrapbook

  • Amy and I are both avid scrapbookers.  We have fallen behind on our books and don’t get to do as much as we want to.  We are setting a goal of getting 8 layouts each a month.  We also would like to attend 3 all day crops this year.  I also would like to do a year of “Twelve on the Twelfth” every month.  You take 12 random pictures on the 12th day of every month and scrapbook them.  That would be included in my 8 pages per month.

So far these are all the personal goals we have.  Neither one of us takes as much “me” time as we should.  I would also like to try to set one day a month to do an activity with the entire family…we haven’t decided what shape that goal will take yet, though.  We both have our own separate personal goals we would like to work on and that may or may not become a separate post.

So, what are your goals for the New Year?  Do you set both personal and financial goals for yourself?  Why or why not?

10 responses to “Welcome 2010…we’re ready for you!

  1. Another wonderful post! I love reading them.

    I normally don’t make a resoloution but I do “wipe the slate clean” so to speak and begin anew (out with the old and in with the new)

    My goals, or promises to myself, come in the form of intention and focus rather than in a material manifestation of my yearnings.

    Best of luck on all of your goals, whether they be a want or a need, th are all well deserved!

    xoxo

    • We have those types of goals too, Tania. These types of goals are more personal to me and something I am not willing to share on the blog. I like the idea of “wiping the slate clean”. Reminds me of my favourite quote, from my favourite literary character (Anne Shirley): “Tomorrow is fresh, with no mistakes in it”. ~ Judi

  2. Good luck to you both!! I look forward to reading along as you accomplish each of those goals.

    And a front load washer/dryer!! *drools* 😉

  3. Good luck with your goals. They’re alot but I’m sure you will all do fine. You just have to stay motivated and ontop of things. p’-‘q

    I set all tons of goals and resolutions for myself – career & education, personal, financial, etc. Too many in fact! But I’ll try to see them all through. Or at least put my best foot forward.

  4. Hi Judles!
    Good luck with your goals. You guys have such determination, I can surely learn from you. I made a resolution years ago to not make resolutions, but to live my life how I want to. As each new year passes it give me a chance to reflect on how that is going and I can make changes as needed! That is the only resolution I have ever been able to keep!
    I look forward to seeing you make your goals.
    Dagny

    • Hey!! Thanks for coming and checking us out. What have you and the girls been up to? I like that idea, living life how you want to. I am certainly doing that now. Hopefully I’ll see you on the GL board…it’s slow now that they’ve canceled the show. I am going to make an effort to post more over there.

  5. You guys are such an inspiration! I love the goals and that you’re working so feverishly to accomplish them! That’s awesome!

    My personal goals are to spend more me time. Since I’ve become a mom, I’ve completely forsaken my own wants/goals/needs and I find myself lamenting it more and more. Don’t get me wrong: I adore Andrew and am so eternally grateful to be a mom to such a special little sweetheart, but I don’t think I need to put myself dead last all of the time. So in 2010 I’d like to do a better job of taking care of myself. I’m overdue for my mammogram, my annual medical and dental checkups, desperately need to get my hair cut/colored and would like to spend some time exercising/eating better – not just woofing down junk food and surviving on coffee!

    My financial goals are to put more into savings, to sell off so much stuff that’s just collecting dust around here or that Andrew’s outgrown, and to put more discretionary income towards debt and Andrew’s college account.

    My spiritual goal is to spend more time appreciating what I have and to stop wasting energy and time comparing myself to others and wishing my life would be something else. I need to focus on the blessings that God has given us and make a concerted effort to do more for those less fortunate.

    My family goals are to work harder at being more on top of things at home (I have a bad habit of procrastinating) and to try and organize things better so that there’s a sense of peace and tranquility and not one of chaos.

    Happy 2010 to you all! Best of luck in accomplishing all of your goals and realizing all of your dreams!!

    Hugs,
    Judy

  6. Hopefully there will be money left in the federal appliance rebate program and you’ll be able to get a bit back on the appliances. Also, if you have a choice, I highly recommend LG. I’ve had the LG : WM2487HRMA 27in Washing Machine Front Load in Cherry Red with the matching dryer (in the stacked configuration) for 18 months now and it works great – not to mention that the sanitary cycle has been known to get even iodine out of my clothing. The only caveat is that you want to put it on a very stable floor, as the spin cycle can only be described as vigorous.

    I always make a ton of resolutions and then fall flat on most of them. But this doesn’t deter me, as I believe that you should aim for the stars to hit the top of the telephone pole, rather than aiming for the top of the pole and hitting the ground.

Leave a Reply

