Twelve more sleeps until Christmas…and Menu Plan Monday

by Judi 

We’re starting to get ready for Christmas!  I am getting excited.  I love Christmas, it’s my favourite holiday of the year.  The sights, the smells, the excited kids…I love everything about it.  This year Amy and I got a wonderful Christmas present from her Nan: 

One of friends described this as "sexy"...I must agree!

I have to say, this is the only kitchen appliance any man should purchase for his wife/gf/so and put under the tree.  I actually hugged ours!  So, yesterday, I baked.  I attempted my very first fruitcake and I also made shortbread for teacher gifts.  For our teachers we bake cookies and get them all a $5 Tim Horton’s gift card.  A tasty treat and something they can use, rather than a mug or an ornament that says “world’s greatest teacher”…lol.  Think about all the things like that, that teachers must get over the years.  I am sure one or two would be nice…but not 20, lol.   Those with kids, what do you give for teacher gifts at the holidays?  To my readers that are teachers, what kinds of gifts do you appreciate from your students?  I would love to hear everyone’s ideas. 

 

I promised that I would get back to putting costs of our meals up again, and I was able to do that this week.  Our dinners at home this week were only $54.88.  The family went out last evening with my department at work for a little Christmas get-together.  It was so much fun and we saw a really great band, Red Line Run, who play music of the 60’s.  If you enjoy that genre, please check out their website.  For all of us, the bill was only just over $100…not too shabby for 9 people.  Please check out I’m An Organizing Junkie‘s site for other great menus!

Day Meal Cost
Sunday Department Christmas Celebration Shane and I both worked overtime, we’re using this to pay for all of us going out…still making all our debt repayments.
Monday Jerk Pork Roast, Noodles and Sauce, Veg $6.83
Tuesday Roast Chicken, Garlic and Parmesan Rice, Squash $9.06
Wednesday Chicken Corn Chowder $5.63*
Thursday Pasta E Fagoli Soup $9.00
Friday Hashbrown Casserole $11.22
Saturday Prime Rib, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Veggies $13.14**

*Using the free chicken we got at Real Canadian Superstore a few weeks ago and leftover chicken from the roast chicken 

**Shane found a Prime Rib for $10.12 for us to have…sometimes, you have to treat yourselves.  Since a prime rib dinner out for 4 would cost over $100, I think we’re doing OK.

5 responses to “Twelve more sleeps until Christmas…and Menu Plan Monday

  1. That is indeed one hell of a sexy appliance. KITCHEN appliance, I mean. Uhhh, never mind.

  2. just wondering if anyone should be quite so enamoured of a kitchen appliance? Hmm?

  3. I have that mixer! (Well, kind of. Mine’s the model without the handle). And I must say, I love it, too!

  4. As a teacher I have to say I do appreciate the gifts, because I don’t expect them.

    When the kids ask me what I want I always say “you don’t have to get me anything” followed by a “if you do, something I can use up though, would be great as I have no spots for knicknacks”. I love things like little candles, or teas, timcards or things to nibble if I am not following a diet LOL

  5. I LOVE my kitchenAid! Tom bought it for me the first or second Christmas after we were married! It’s by the far the BEST kitchen appliance that I own! Not including the dishwasher of course!

    For Andrew’s teachers I usually try to give them something they can use. One year I gave them all gift cards to Bath & Body Works. I figured anyone working with kids can use something to pamper themselves! I bake pretty well so I’ve given homemade cookies. Not everyone has time to bake, and even if one doesn’t eat baked goods, they might have company over that does!

Leave a Reply

