Menu Plan Monday for a snowy (sort of) December day

 

Had a pretty good weekend here.  Saturday was my family’s annual Christmas party up in Fergus.  We had a great time, and as always, it was wonderful to see my aunts, uncles, and cousins.  My brother, Jim, couldn’t make the trip because of the accident he had the week before…he was hit by a drunk driver…battered and bruised, not broken, and very alive, thank goodness!  He was in too much pain to make the trip up from Windsor.  Feel better soon, Jim.  Please, everyone, if you’re drinking this holiday season, don’t get behind the wheel!!  Be smart and hand your keys off to someone who is not drinking.

We actually managed to get all our shopping done for the kids on Sunday, except for ONE gift that doesn’t get released until tomorrow (Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince DVD).  Tomorrow night, Amy and Shane will be off to get that for $15 off at Wal-Mart and finish shopping for me.  I wonder what they’re going to get me?  I haven’t really asked for much…I can’t think of anything I really need, so Christmas will be a lovely surprise.

Has everyone made their Christmas Day plans?  We’ve decided to host brunch again this year.  We enjoyed doing it last year and then we have a great excuse not to make a huge turkey dinner!  I love turkey dinner, but it’s time consuming and it makes for a less enjoyable Christmas when I have to spend the day in the kitchen.  With brunch, I can do a lot of the preparation beforehand.   We started preparing for it yesterday…well, I did…I made my Auntie Dianne’s Herbed Liver Paté from scratch and put it in the freezer.  I will probably make a couple of batches of muffins on the weekend and freeze them as well.  I am trying to decide whether or not I am going to make a sweet potato pie, or a marble pumpkin cheesecake for dessert.

So here’s our menu plan for the week.  I dropped the ball again this week and don’t have meal cost again…promise I will do better next week.  Make sure you go and check out the other great menus at Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday

Sunday – Egg Foo Yung, Chinese Fried Rice, Beef and Pepper Stir-Fry

Monday – Pork Roast with Maple Garlic Sauce, Noodles and Sauce, Veggies

Tuesday – Shepherd’s Pie and Salad

Wednesday – Oktoberfest Sausage Soup

Thursday – Quick Quiche and Salad

Friday – Spaghetti and Meat Sauce

Saturday – Chicken Parmesan, Mashed Potatoes and Squash

Have a terrific week everyone…I am off to decorate the tree with Amy, Shane, and the kids!

4 responses to “Menu Plan Monday for a snowy (sort of) December day

  1. Oh my god! So glad to hear that your brother is okay. I lost a cousin many years ago during the Christmas season, and wouldn’t wish it upon anybody.

    I’m with you, please please please, don’t drink and drive!

  2. If you love turkey, this is a good time to get a turkey for a good price. I got one at No Frills for everyone except myself for .94 a pound. Loblaws also has them on sale although I haven’t seen them for less than what NF has them for. They also had potatoes for $1.30 per bag.

  3. Yeah, Shane and I saw those the other night…we could have got a massive one for $20. We’re thinking that we still might go and get one and put it in the freezer for another time. I am just not up to doing a turkey. We were going to get Chinese Food for dinner, until we found out that the Mandarin isn’t open on Christmas day this year 😦

Leave a Reply

