An hour with friends

“I keep my friends as misers do their treasure, because, of all the things granted us by wisdom, none is greater or better than friendship.”
— Pietro Aretino (1537)

It’s amazing how just an hour with good friends can do wonders for your soul.  I got to spend time at Starbucks today with 3 wonderful women.   We sipped our drinks, unloaded our sorrows and our triumphs, and enjoyed each others company without the constant chatter of our little ankle biters.

I think as mothers we often forget that we’re women first and foremost.  If we lose sight of who we are, things can start falling apart.  Afternoons like today certainly help me to remember this.

Thanks Ladies…for those who made it out, and those who were missed…

7 responses to “An hour with friends

  1. I really like your blog, but it’s hard to know which of you wrote the entry. Can you tell us who the writer is for each one?

  2. Glad I set up the coffee! Maybe next time I’ll make it out with the rest of ya. I know all of you needed to get out, so fait accompli. ;O)

  3. You’re very right about making time for oneself. As moms, we think it’s our moral obligation to live solely for our families, but the truth is that taking some time for ourselves we in turn become better moms! It’s important to reenergize our spirits and find things outside of our families that give us joy and purpose. It makes us well-rounded individuals.

  4. It was a much needed break for me and I was happy to sit, drink and be with the three of you. Thanks! :o)

  5. Oops, wrong emoticon…I meant this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

